Seven more file for local offices


From staff reports

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Seven more candidates filed for local offices on Tuesday, including five in Pasquotank County.

Tommy Wooten II, a 36-year-old sergeant with the Pasquotank Sheriff’s Office, became the fourth candidate to file for sheriff. He joins fellow Republican Bill Ward and Democrats Eddie Graham and Brent McKecuen, all of whom filed on Monday. All four are seeking to replace Democratic Sheriff Randy Cartwright, who has announced he doesn’t plan to seek re-election.  

Also filing in Pasquotank on Tuesday were Charles Jordan, a Democratic appointee to the Board of Commissioners who’s seeking a four-year term. Jordan, 74, was sworn in last month as an at-large commissioner to complete the unexpired four-year term of Bettie Parker, who gave up her seat when she was sworn in as Elizabeth City’s mayor.

Also filing for re-election to his at-large seat on the Pasquotank Board of Commissioners on Tuesday was Bill Sterritt. The 84-year-old Democrat was first elected to the board in 2010. 

Joe Winslow, an incumbent Democrat representing the Northern Inside District on the Pasquotank board, filed for re-election to his seat on Monday.

Two incumbent members of the Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Board of Education also filed for re-election on Tuesday. Sharon Warden, 62, filed for a second term to her Outside City seat, while Virginia Houston, 73, filed for a second term to her Inside City seat. Houston actually has been on the board since 2013, when she was appointed to a vacant seat.

Also filing for re-election in Pasquotank on Tuesday was District Attorney Andrew Womble. The chief prosecutor in the 1st Prosecutorial District was first elected in 2014. 

In Currituck County, two school board candidates filed for the election that will be held in November. Karen Etheridge, who was first elected in 2010, filed for a third term for the board’s Poplar Branch seat. Janet Rose, who was appointed to fill a vacancy in 2016, filed for a four-year term for the board’s Crawford District seat. Two other candidates filed for the school board on Monday: incumbent Bill Dobney, the board’s chairman who holds an at-large seat, and first-time candidate Josh Bass, who is seeking the Crawford seat currently held by Rose.

There were no new filings on Tuesday in either Camden, Perquimans or Chowan counties.