Celebrations: Grads are first to earn surgical technology degree

1 of 4

The first graduates at College of the Albemarle to receive an Associate Degree in Surgical Technology include (l-r) Back row: Traci Simmons, Taylor Williams, Tammy Cayton, McKenzie Evans. Front: Ashley Ferguson, Aysa Lucket, Stephanie Zaller, Ashlyn Cobb, Kimberlee Snyder.


From staff reports

Sunday, December 17, 2017

College of The Albemarle honored nine graduates at the Surgical Technology Graduation and Pinning Ceremony last week. This ceremony marks history for COA as these students are the first graduating class to receive an Associate Degree in Surgical Technology. Prior to this year, Surgical Technology students earned diplomas. The program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs.

Graduates were: Traci Simmons of Currituck County, Taylor Williams of Pasquotank County, Tammy Cayton of Washington County, McKenzie Evans of Perquimans County; Ashley Ferguson of Currituck County, Aysa Lucket of Pasquotank County, Stephanie Zaller of Currituck County, Ashlyn Cobb of Bertie County, Kimberlee Snyder of Gates County

Stephanie Zaller and Tammy Cayton were awarded Academic Recognitions, and Zaller was awarded the Academic Excellence and Albemarle Hospital Volunteer Career Scholarship.

Families, friends, faculty and staff came out to support the graduates including Board of Trustee Vice Chairman Marion Harris and wife Wilma. President Robert Wynegar stated it was “an absolute joy” to be a part of the ceremony, and Brandy Wooten, program coordinator and instructor stated she hoped they would “put as much determination and motivation in their career as they have in this past year.”

Weeping Radish owner

named Tourism Leader

Uli Bennewitz with Weeping Radish in Jarvisburg was recently named Tourism Leader of the Year by Currituck County’s Tourism Department.

Bennewitz was among local business leaders honored for their friendly and welcoming treatment of visitors to Currituck County at the annual Fall Forum and Hospitality Awards program on Nov. 16 at Kilmarlic’s Black Tartan Tap Room.

The Hospitality Guest Service Excellence Awards were then presented, recognizing both front-line and behind-the-scenes staff members who excel in providing customer service to visitors. There were four Hospitality award categories for Guest Service Excellence: Front-Line, Behind-the Scenes, Management and Tourism Leader of the Year. The top winners included: Terri Sawyer, A.J. Gators, Front-Line; Amanda Campbell, Ocean Atlantic Rentals, Behind-the-Scenes; Terry Gore, Outer Banks Blue for Management; and Uli Bennewitz of Weeping Radish Brewery, Tourism Leader of the Year.

“Good customer service is vital to the tourism industry, and these award winners exemplify the best in hospitality,” said Tourism Director Tameron Kugler.

During the meeting, Kugler and Marketing Director Stuart Chamberlain gave updates on marketing campaigns and occupancy tax collected during the 2017 season. David Joyner, president of Joyner Media & Strategies, Inc., a small business advocate, was the guest speaker. His presentation re-emphasized the importance of customer service, collaboration of small businesses, how to use new technologies to reach your customer and how to adapt your business model to handle a more demanding consumer.

Berry speaks about

portrait to OBX club 

Local historian Marjorie Ann Berry was featured speaker at Women’s Association of Duck Woods Country Club’s December Meeting.

Berry, a local historian, talked about the "Nags Head Portrait" on display at The Museum of the Albemarle to the more than 75 members and guests of the club. The history of the portrait contains a haunting tale of pirates, a shipwreck and the daughter of a vice president.

BLET program

holds graduation

College of The Albemarle’s Basic Law Enforcement Training program held a Graduation Ceremony on Dec. 12 at the Sheep Harney Auditorium.

Graduates include: Kurtis Waldrop from Currituck, Matthew Hvozdovic from Dare, Trey-Vaughn Lewis from Pasquotank, Justin Barie from Currituck, Joshua Doshen from Pasquotank, William Edwards from Pasquotank, David Rhoads from Dare, Terri Lynn Meads from Pasquotank, Brent Powell from Camden, Alex Liverman from Tyrrell, Tori Arroyo from Pasquotank and Brian Watson from Perquimans.

Special recognition was awarded to Brian Watson as the group’s honor graduate; William Edwards as “Top Gun”; Kurtis Waldrop received the “Iron Man” award for having the highest average fitness level; and Tori Arroyo received the “Law Enforcement Excellence” award for exhibiting exceptional law enforcement qualities.

During the 16 weeks of training, the students finished 641 contact hours, 36 distinct blocks of instruction with 36 topical tests and multiple practical exams to include firearms, driving, traffic crash, patrol techniques, domestic violence, criminal investigation, CPR/first responders, rapid deployment, explosive and hazardous materials emergency and subject control arrest techniques practical exams; and they successfully completed the Peace Officer Physical Aptitude Test (POPAT) followed by the state exam.

Robert Wynegar, president of COA, welcomed graduates, family, local law enforcement instructors and sponsors, and friends to the ceremony. Captain H. Travis Jackson from the Pasquotank Sherriff’s Office provided the keynote address for the event. Jeffrey K. Jones, interim director for COA’s law enforcement programs, along with Wynegar, presented certificates to the graduates.