Fifteen earn nursing pins at COA ceremony

1 of 5

Practical Nursing students received their nursing pins during College of The Albemarle’s 41st annual pinning ceremony on July 26. Nurses earning their pins include: front row (l-r) -- Deeanna Davenport, Vanessa Nixon, Bet Bujiang, Kathlyn Rountree; middle row -- Latisha Overton, Jhasmine Arellano, Morgan Barnes, Hannah Watson, Donna Briglia, Kristina Lynch; and back row -- Amber Pittman, Currituck, Chelsea LaBarge, Michael Shuman, Jennifer Simpson and Ebony Webb.

Electric Congress 2018.JPG

Sunday, August 5, 2018

Fifteen Practical Nursing students received their nursing pins at College of The Albemarle’s 41st annual pinning ceremony on July 26.

Held in the COA Performing Arts Center, the ceremony was a traditional service and included pinning lapel pins, lighting nightingale lamps and taking the Practical Nurse’s Pledge. Nursing awards were presented by the COA Practical Nursing faculty.

Practical Nursing graduate Morgan Barnes received the Academic Excellence Award for having the highest overall grade point average. Deeanna Davenport received the Program Distinction Award for having the highest grade point average in nursing school. Davenport also received the Mildred W. Moore Nursing Excellence Award.

College of the Albemarle’s Practical Nursing Class of 2018 includes: Camden County — Michael Shuman; Currituck County — Deeanna Davenport, Amber Pittman and Chelsea LaBarge; Gates County — Kathlyn Rountree and Morgan Barnes; Perquimans County — Jhasmine Arellano, Hannah Watson and Kristina Lynch; and Pasquotank County — Latisha Overton and Jennifer Simpson. 

VFW honors State Commander

The Veterans of Foreign Wars of the U.S. announced that Greg Stafford of Camden has achieved All-American status as a department commander.

Stafford, commander of the Department of N.C., is one of only 21 state commanders worldwide to earn the title of All-American Commander. To achieve this honor, department commanders must meet strict requirements in their role to include exceptional leadership, authentic accomplishment in membership growth and strong support of VFW core programs.

“The All-American Commanders have attained this coveted title through outstanding achievements in membership growth and participation in VFW programs,” said VFW National Commander Keith E. Harman. “They are a fine example of VFW leadership. Their hard work and dedication to the mission and values of our organization has rightly earned them this great honor.”

The Veterans of Foreign Wars of the U.S. is the nation's largest and oldest major war veterans organization. Founded in 1899, the congressionally-chartered VFW is comprised of veterans and military service members from the active, Guard and Reserve forces. 

Currituck County 4-Her’s attend Electric Congress

A delegation of Currituck County 4-Her’s attended the 71st Annual 4-H Electric Congress held earlier this summer at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

N.C. 4-H Electric Congress is sponsored by Duke Energy, Dominion N.C. Power, and the N.C. Cooperative Extension Service. Each year the event recognizes youth who have spent the past year learning about electricity, alternative energy sources and practices, and new and emerging electric and energy technologies. To qualify and earn a trip to Electric Congress, youth must complete a project record or a portfolio that details the knowledge gained from the qualifying activities and events that they participated in over the course of the year. The authors of the top two project books and the top two portfolios earn a trip to Electric Congress.

The 2018 Currituck County Electric Project Record Award winners were Elijah Campbell and Gregory Dozier. Winners of the Electric Portfolio Award were Gabriel Campbell and Armani Rascoe.  

Troop 127 at Camp Raven Knob For BSA 

Boy Scout Troop 127, of St. Katharine Drexel in Maple, attended summer camp at Camp Raven Knob in Mount Airy.

The scouts participated in various merit badge sessions such has citizenship, search and rescue, emergency preparedness, swimming, environmental science, personal management and many others. They also participated in an evening rifle shoot and chess matches.

Aiden Harmon and Dylan Harmon participated in a week-long Mountain Man program. In this program, the scouts' learn the way of life of the nation’s founding pioneers, learning how to forge knives and shoot muskets. They also participate in tomahawk throwing competition and primitive wood working.

Troop 127 scouts endured torrential down pours throughout the week. Troop 127 meets regularly at  Maple and supports a Cub Scout pack which meets at the same location.

Area students awarded AgCarolina scholarships

AgCarolina Farm Credit, eastern North Carolina’s largest agricultural lending cooperative, announced 24 high school and college students will be receiving scholarships totaling $24,750 during 2018. The scholarship program is one component of the lender’s corporate giving program.

Recipient of a $500 4-H Scholarship is Sydney Newbern of Jarvisburg.

In addition to the above scholarship, five $750 scholarships to the NCSU Ag Institute will be awarded. One of the recipients of the Ag Institute scholarships was Garland Ferebee of Shawboro.

“Supporting the communities we serve is a part of what we do at AgCarolina Farm Credit” says Dave Corum, CEO, of AgCarolina. “Providing scholarship funds to high achieving students is one way we choose to give back. AgCarolina Farm Credit is committed to taking an active role in shaping the future for those in eastern North Carolina. Since the inception of our scholarship program, AgCarolina has distributed over $325,000 in scholarship funds to talented students from across our 34-county territory.”

Currituck Extension announces new staff

Currituck County Cooperative Extension recently announced new staff in the department.

Billy Caudle, Chris Blaha, and Ella Skinner all joined the team this summer. Currituck Cooperative Extension works to meet the needs of Currituck County citizens through hands-on education in the areas of Agriculture, 4-H and Youth Development, and Foods and Nutrition.

Billy Caudle will be serving as a 4-H Program Assistant for Currituck County. He will oversee the Community Service and Restitution program, will provide marketing and community relations expertise, and oversee the 4-H Day Camping program with Currituck County Extension’s 4-H Department. 

Chris Blaha will be filling the role of Agriculture Technician for Currituck County. He will oversee the Extension Master Gardener program, serve as a resource person for horticulture to the public, and provide educational programs on various horticultural topics.

Ella Skinner will be serving as the Extension building custodian. She is responsible for building cleanliness and safety as well as coordinating with outside users of the building to accommodate their needs.