Celebrations, Nov. 25

1 of 2

Billy Caudle (second from left) was named a Paul Harris Fellow during the Elizabeth City Rotary Club meeting on Nov. 14 at Monteros restaurant. Shown with Caudle during the presentation are (l-r) Diana Gardner, past president; Charles Gregg, past district governor; and Sidney Rabon, current president of the Elizabeth City Rotary Club.

Historic Preservation 2018.jpg

Sunday, November 25, 2018

Currituck-Dare groups award more than $25,000 in local grants

The boards of advisors of both the Currituck-Dare Community Foundation and Currituck-Dare Women's Fund recently awarded $25,405 in local grants, according to Sheila Davies, CDCF board president and Loismary Hoehne and Janet Colegrove, CDWF co-chairs.

This year’s grants include:

— $2,500 to the Albemarle Commission Senior Nutrition Program for Meals on Wheels

— $1,500 to Albemarle Hopeline for general operating support

— $1,000 to the Autism Society of North Carolina for Autism Resource Specialists in Currituck and Dare counties

— $2,550 to Interfaith Community Outreach, Inc. for direct services and cancer outreach for Dare and Currituck residents

— $1,500 to Kids First, Inc. for the Child Abuse Treatment Project

— $2,255 to Lower Currituck Food Pantry for general operating support

— $1,000 to Prevent Blindness North Carolina for Star Pupil Currituck-Dare County

— $1,000 to the YMCA of South Hampton Roads: Albemarle Y for Currituck After School STEM Curriculum

Davies, Hoehne and Colegrove thanked the community for its support.

“We are proud to support these nonprofit programs that are so vital to the community,” Davies said.

Hoehne added, “We are grateful to the many generous individuals and organizations that have supported our work.”

“Our mission is to inspire philanthropy across our community,” Colegrove said.

Snowden, Malvasi, Sandbeck cited by DAR 

Virginia Dare Chapter, National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution, in Kill Devil Hills, recently presented the Society's Historic Preservation Recognition Award to authors Barbara Blythe Snowden, a Currituck native, Meg Greene Malvasi, and Penne Smith Sandbeck.

Their book, The Goodliest & Most Pleasing Territory: A Building Survey of Currituck County and The Northern Outer Banks, features Currituck County and northern Outer Banks historic farmhouses, churches, bungalows, hunting lodges, lifesaving stations, and general stores.

All 200 structures in the book are at least 50 years old and have historical and architectural significance to the area. The book, published in December 2017, is the accumulation of 10 years of research and meticulous work by the three authors.

The NSDAR Historic Preservation Recognition Award recognizes and honors an individual or group that has done recent remarkable volunteer work at the community level.