Rascoe receives Long Leaf Pine honor


N.C. Department of Cultural Resources Secretary Susi H. Hamilton (left) poses with Order of the Long Leaf Pine recipient Nancy Dawson Rascoe (center) in the Old House Chamber on Sept. 7. With Rascoe are (l-r) her husband, Paul A. Stevenson; Hertford Town Councilor Sid Eley; Perquimans Board of Commissioners Chairman Wallace E. Nelson; and Betty Jo Shepheard, eastern regional field representative for U. S. Sen. Richard Burr, R-N.C.


From staff reports

Friday, November 2, 2018

Elizabeth City resident Nancy Dawson Rascoe recently was presented the Order of the Long Leaf Pine in a ceremony in Raleigh that was attended by more than 100 friends and family members.

The presentation took place at the State Capitol in the Old House Chamber on Sept. 7.

The Order of the Long Leaf Pine, which is awarded by the governor, is the highest civilian award for service to the state of North Carolina. According to state officials, it is presented to individuals who have a proven record of extraordinary service to the state and their North Carolina communities.

Rascoe taught school in North Carolina beginning in 1954, and from 1993 through 2018 operated a summer program teaching young people proper etiquette, manners, respect for others and themselves, and the social customs that will help them become successful professionals and business leaders in society.

Her summer etiquette program for young people, comprised of weekly five-day overnight camping sessions at her former home in Perquimans County, was referred to as Miss Nancy’s Manners Camp, and was also known as “A Summer House Party for Young Ladies and Gentlemen.”

Each session of her manners camp ended with a graduation ceremony in which every student individually recited memorized quotations reflecting on the importance of manners and etiquette in all aspects of life.

A number of other area residents have been awarded the Order of the Long Leaf Pine, including William Sterritt and Dr. Linda Hayden of Pasquotank County; Bill Privott of Currituck County; and Kristi Nixon, Bob Quinn and Eddy Goodwin of Chowan County.