Pasquotank board OKs change to meeting time


By Jon Hawley
Staff Writer

Saturday, February 23, 2019

Pasquotank County commissioners will move their regular meetings up an hour next month, following a final vote of commissioners to tweak their meeting schedule.

In a 4-3 vote earlier this week, commissioners reaffirmed their regular meetings will now start at 6 p.m., rather than at 7 p.m., on the first and third Mondays of the month.

Commissioners’ finance committee meetings will still be held at 4 p.m. prior to the board’s regular meetings. The finance committee includes all commissioners and is often where some items are discussed in depth and decided upon.

Chairman Jeff Dixon and Commissioners Cecil Perry and Frankie Meads opposed the move, preferring to start finance committee meetings at 5 p.m., but not change the regular meeting time.

Voting in favor of the 6 p.m. meetings were board Vice Chairman Lloyd Griffin and Commissioners Charles Jordan, Barry Overman and Sean Lavin.

Griffin and other proponents of holding meetings at 6 p.m. argued they could foster more public participation. They said more county residents might be able to attend the meetings shortly after work, rather than having to drive back to Elizabeth City in the evening. The move also reduces down time for commissioners and staff, who could have a wait of two hours-plus between finance and regular meetings.

When commissioners voted for the change earlier this month, they acknowledged citizens might object to it — and invited public comment Monday on the matter. No member of the public spoke on the matter Monday.