Board welcomes new members at organizational meeting

1 of 3

The Currituck County Board of Education: (front) Janet Rose; Karen Etheridge, Vice Chairman; Dwan Craft; (back) Cydney Christian and Tyler Little, student board members; Will Crodick; Bill Dobney, chairman; Jacob Walton and Jenna Akers, student board members.


From staff reports

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

The annual organizational meeting of the Board of Education occurs each December. This year’s organizational meeting also welcomed two new members, one elected and one recently appointed.

Currituck County’s Clerk of Court Ray Matusko conducted the swearing in of Will Crodick, newly elected school board member in Fruitville Township, and Janet Rose, newly appointed member from Crawford Township. In addition, Dwan Craft, re-elected school board member in Moyock Township, was also sworn in for her second term.

During the meeting, the board elects the person to fill the role as chairman and vice chairman. By unanimous votes, Bill Dobney will remain the board chairman and Karen Etheridge became the new vice chairwoman.

Student groups

in board spotlight

During the Dec. 1 Board of Education meeting, several student groups and individuals were recognized for recent achievements or featured during the “school spotlight” segment of the meeting agenda.

Shawboro Elementary’s AIG students were featured during the school spotlight where they presented activities related to their learning of fingerprints, enhanced by the use of multiple technology tools. Students explained how they magnified their own fingerprints and wrote autobiographies in the same design as the print. The “Aurasma App” allowed students to create augmented reality by attaching files like videos to a trigger image. Once attached to the image, the reader can hover an electronic device over the image and it “comes to life.”

In addition, students described the use of a “Teleprompter App” to create videos with the facts and information learned through their exploration of fingerprints’ history and importance. The student learning in the AIG program at Shawboro Elementary is facilitated by Sandra Reynolds.

Students from Moyock Middle School’s 8th grade Chorus were also featured in the spotlight segment of the board meeting. Director Kyle Cook led a demonstration of how students are “tested” on their sight reading of music they have never seen, which is a part of Music Performance Adjudication competitions held at the district and state level. In preparation for participation in these events, students learn to sight read “on the spot,” finding their way through the musical notes presented for the first time. After only at minute of “chaos” rehearsing, the group must sing the notes as a choral group.

At the end of the demonstration, provided dates and times of upcoming choral events featuring all members of the Moyock Middle School chorus, more than 230 students strong. Members of the Moyock Middle School 8th-grade chorus who were present, provided the board and audience with an example of some of the musical arrangements that will be featured in the holiday performances, singing “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day.”

Students earning awards and special recognition over the past month were also featured during the board meeting. Students recognized for earning spots on the middle and high school honors chorus and honors orchestra from Currituck County Schools were: Matthew Berry and James Brewer, 8th-grade students at Moyock Middle School who performed in the North Carolina Middle School Honors Chorus; Matthew Weeks is a member of the Currituck County High School Chorus and performed in the North Carolina Senior High School Honors Chorus; Matthew Weeks is a member of the Currituck County High School Chorus and performed in the North Carolina Senior High School Honors Chorus; and Connor Tumlinson was selected to perform in the honors orchestra and is also performing in the All-National Honor Concert Band at the National Music Educators Conference held in Grapevine, Texas. Director of Bands Lee Burgess; Director of Middle School Chorus Kyle Cook; and Director of Currituck County High School Chorus Tiffany Arbogast provided details on the significance of these students’ achievement and thanked the board for its continued support of the arts.

Currituck County High School’s Competition Cheer Squad was recognized by the Board of Education for winning the State Cheerleading Championship in Raleigh recently. The squad will be gearing up for several upcoming competitions, leading to the nationals in Myrtle Beach, S.C.

Holiday card

winners named

The Holiday Card Design Contest winners for 2016-17 were announced at the Dec. 1 school board meeting and the winning designs unveiled to the public. This year’s contest was expanded to include submissions from grades K-2 and 3-5, bringing the total number of winning designs to four. Students’ winning artwork is used to create cards used to send to all staff and neighboring districts during the Christmas season.

This year’s winners were grades K-2: Erin Wilson, Moyock Elementary; grades 3-5: Riley Rohenbach, Moyock Elementary; Deanna Lynch, Moyock Middle School; Savanna Gilbert, Currituck County High School

Schools receive

behavior banners

Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports is a proactive approach to establishing the behavioral supports and social culture needed for all students in a school to achieve social, emotional and academic success. Recognition can be earned by schools that take specific steps toward training and full implementation of the PBIS program.

For their efforts during the 2015-16 school year, two Currituck County Schools received “Green Ribbon Recognition.” The schools are W. T. Griggs Elementary and Moyock Middle School. This honor is given to schools that have an active administration, a PBIS team in place that meets at least nine times during the year, has an identified school coach and has completed Module 1 training. In addition, these schools must earn at least 70 percent or higher in Tier I on the Tiered Fidelity Inventory self-assessment tool and 80 percent on the schoolwide evaluation tool.

Three schools received “Model Recognition.” They included Central Elementary, Moyock Elementary and Currituck County Middle Schools. This honor is given to schools that meet the “Green Ribbon” standards plus have completed Module 2 training and have at least a 75 percent in Tier 1 and 80 percent or better in Tiers 2 and 3 on the self-assessment and 80 percent on the school-wide evaluation tool.

Banners were presented to school representatives by Virginia Arrington, director of secondary education and support services.


Submitted photos

Shown are members of the Currituck County Board of Education (front, l-r) Janet Rose; Karen Etheridge, vice chairwomman; Dwan Craft; (back, l-r) Cydney Christian and Tyler Little, student board members; Will Crodick; Bill Dobney, chairman; Jacob Walton and Jenna Akers, student board members.

Shawboro students who participate in the AIG program shared the learning activities associated with a unit on “fingerprints” during the December Board of Education meeting. Those who participated included (r-l) Samantha Dick; Gabby Sands; Macy Wardle; Samantha drew; Riley Parker; Kendra Daniels; Luke Morgan; Mrs. Sandra Reynolds, AIG instructor; and Gabe Taylor.

Participating in presentation of school Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports awards (r-l) were: Dan Palimetakis, principal of Central Elementary; Angel Lasher, principal of W.T. Griggs Elementary; Virginia Arrington, director of secondary education and support services; Tommy Wilson, principal of Moyock Middle School; Teresa Sawyer, PBIS leader at Moyock Elementary and Brandi Kelly, assistant principal at Moyock Elementary.