Foundation announces Impact Grant recipients

NHS FFA Competition Teams 6.2018 - SCHOOL LIFE 7.24.18.jpg

Pictured (back row, l-r) are Michael Carter, Madeline Parrish, Mia Spruill, Logan Miller, Adam Peoples, Sim Hurdle, Alex Kockler, Taylor Carter, Matthew Pendleton, Enoch Adedeji and Jake Jennings; (front, l-r) are Dawson Newton, Mallory Bogardus, Carissa Bobko, Marriah Boyce and Lauren Winslow (not pictured is Brittany Bundy).


From staff reports

Tuesday, July 24, 2018

The Education Foundation for ECPPS provides grants annually to teachers in the district for classroom projects that will enhance instruction and have a direct impact on student learning. The Foundation has approved over $6,000 in grants for 2018-19.

The recipients and projects approved for the Martha Ann Ward Swain Impact Grants include:

$450 — Coza Blount – Plants on the Move: Plant Tropism

$798 — Lauren Williams – Think Outside the Box

$800 — Jennifer Canales – Ukulele Music/Strings Program

$1,000 — Krystal Lancaster – PES Makerspace

$750 — Dina Hansen – Igniting Ideas for All

$500 — Melissa Harrison – Storybook STEM

$500 — Jill Turner – Sports Doodle – Create – Share – Play

$800 — Patricia Daniels – Preparing our Students for the Jobs of the Future, Coding, & Robotics

The recipients and projects approved through other various funds include:

(Wilma Flood Fund) $643 — Rose Hotchkiss – A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

(Judy Boyer Williams Literature Fine Arts Fund) $493 — Justin Bryant - Within and Beyond a Book: Artistic Literacy

(Francine Sanders Science Fund) $779 — Roberta Heath and John Towell – How Fast can you Track it?

(James Gray Fund) $624 — Nicole Hosler — Comprehensive School Counseling

FFA teams place in state competitions

Several FFA teams at Northeastern High placed in state competitions this summer. The competitions were held June 19-21 at the Raleigh Convention Center.

The Floriculture Team placed 2nd; team members included Carissa Bobko, Mallory Bogardus, Marriah Boyce and Mia Spruill.

The Introduction to Horticulture Team placed 2nd; team included Michael Carter, Sim Hurdle, Alex Kockler and Logan Miller.

The Nursery Landscape Team placed 3rd; team included Taylor Carter, Jake Jennings, Dawson Newton and Adam Peoples.

The Milk Quality Team placed 11th; team included Enoch Adedeji, Madeline Parrish, Matthew Pendleton and Lauren Winslow.

Additional recognition went to the following Northeastern FFA members:

State FFA Degree recipients Carissa Bobko, Marriah Boyce, Brittany Bundy, Matthew Pendleton and Lauren Winslow. Jake Jennings received a National FFA Scholarship for $5000. Davis Robertson received recognition for her high level of accomplishment in the competition for Vet Science.