Currituck schools close; other districts to open after 2-hour delay

From staff reports

0 Comments | Leave a Comment

At least one local school district and one college campus will be closed Friday due to Hurricane Earl. Four more school districts will open after a two-hour delay. Currituck County Schools announced Thursday that the district will be closed Friday. Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Public Schools, Camden County Schools and Perquimans County Schools and the Edenton-Chowan Schools will open Friday after a two-hour delay. College of The Albemarle’s Dare County campus was closed at 10 a.m. this morning, and will remain closed through Friday. At this time, no decisions have been made about the college’s campuses in Elizabeth City and Edenton-Chowan. “Hurricane Earl continues to be an imminent threat to Currituck County, and for that reason, school system administration have decided to cancel school for Friday to ensure the safety of staff and students,” a Currituck County Schools press release reads. At this time, the district has yet to announce a makeup day. An Elizabeth City-Pasquotank press release asks students and parents to continue monitoring local media for updates on school closings. “Parents should continue to monitor local media for any possible changes in the event that conditions change,” the press release states. Perquimans school officials also urged parents and guardians to do the same. They said today that if any changes are made to the scheduled two-hour delay, the announcement will be made via the Connect Ed telephone system. Edenton-Chowan students were slated to carry home notices of the delay today.