Currituck schools to close for storm, others to delay opening

From Staff Reports

The Daily Advance

0 Comments | Leave a Comment

Because of the continuing inclement weather associated with Hurricane Sandy, Currituck County Schools and the Dare County campus of College of The Albemarle will be closed on Tuesday.

Other school districts and college campuses in the region will operate on a two-hour delay. The Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Public Schools, the Camden County Schools and the Perquimans County Schools will all open two hours late.

Officials in Edenton-Chowan have not yet made a decision about whether to delay Tuesday's school opening time.

Elizabeth City State University will also open later on Tuesday because of the storm. Classes will start at 10 a.m., university officials said.

COA's campuses in Elizabeth City and Edenton-Chowan likewise will operate on a two-hour delay, opening at 10 a.m., an official said.

Officials at Mid-Atlantic Christian University said they plan to resume classes on schedule Tuesday.