Opinion

May 02, 2016

A recent letter to the editor made a very false statement that should be addressed.

May 02, 2016

The archenemy of conservatism is not liberalism, but rather the certainty that everyone is to blame for the demise of belief in personal responsibility except oneself. 

May 02, 2016

The writer of one of the letters to the editor published in the April 22 edition of The Daily Advance seemed to be more concerned with the financial repercussions caused by the passage of House Bill 2 than with any other aspect of it.

In criticizing our state legislators, the writer said...

May 02, 2016

By now most people have likely heard more than they want to about the North Carolina “bathroom” debate. Let’s look at facts and see how completely and factually understood the real conflict is.

May 01, 2016

When North Carolina required a voter ID in order to cast a vote, many claimed this was a solution to a non-existent problem. We were told “if it isn’t broke, don’t fix it!”

May 01, 2016

Like Progress Edenton, the citizens group pushing for the town of Edenton to sell the former Northeast Commission building for a waterfront brewery-restaurant, we’re still not clear why a majority of Edenton Town Council opposes what appears to be a golden economic development opportunity.

May 01, 2016

We are commemorating National Tourism Week, May 1-7, here at the Elizabeth City Area Convention & Visitors Bureau – and there is a lot to celebrate during this annual salute to America’s travel industry.

April 30, 2016

“Jesus said to him, "Today salvation has come to this house, because this man, too, is a son of Abraham. For the Son of Man came to seek and to save what was lost." — Luke 19:9, 10

043016andrews

April 30, 2016

WASHINGTON -- Running mates? It's not even May, and already we're talking running mates? Then let me toss Elizabeth Warren's name into the mix.

I'm making several assumptions here -- in a year when assuming anything is dangerous. First, I believe Ted Cruz's desperate gamble of adding...

April 30, 2016

WASHINGTON – One of the first steps Donald Trump took in his transition to the Republican Party’s likely nominee was to recognize that he can’t always talk off the cuff about serious policy issues.

Whether he will abide by that in the coming days and months is unlikely,...

5824 stories in Opinion. Viewing 1 through 10.
«First Page   «Previous Page        
Page 1 of 583
        Next Page»   Last Page»