Latest e-Edition

Special Editions

Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Sunday, December 08, 2019

We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Sunday, December 08, 2019
Saturday, December 07, 2019

Azaleas and nearly all spring flowering shrubs and trees need to be pruned soon after flowering. A new fold has developed in recent years. Reblooming azaleas bloom in spring and fall. So what do we do?

Friday, December 06, 2019
  • Updated

As I notice that Christmas parades and other holiday-themed events are taking place across the area this weekend it occurs to me that not long ago I was absorbed in thought about the holiday — “the holiday” in that instance being Independence Day.

Wednesday, December 04, 2019
  • Updated

BARCO — The work of more than 80 crafters and artisans will be on display at this weekend’s Currituck Arts & Crafts Festival at Currituck County High School.

Sunday, December 01, 2019

The National Funeral Directors Association has announced that Twiford Funeral Home of Elizabeth City is among the 160 funeral homes in the country that have earned the association’s 2019 Pursuit of Excellence Award.

Saturday, November 30, 2019
Friday, November 29, 2019

I had really been looking forward to going to my sister’s house for Thanksgiving but Jane, Nathan and I were all too sick to make the trip to Raleigh so we stayed home.

Wood ducks are by far my favorite duck species. They’re beautiful and I love to listen to them in flight. I can close my eyes and tell the males from the females. Males whistle and females make a squealing noise.

Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Sunday, November 24, 2019

COAST GUARD COLUMN

November is National Military Family Month, and the second lady of the United States is saluting military spouses. Karen Pence made an appearance in northern California last week to address Coast Guard spouses, service members and their families.