All four of the region’s legislative seats will be contested in next year’s general election, thanks to last-day filers on Friday.

Tess Judge, a Democrat from Dare County, filed to run against state Sen. Bob Steinburg, R-Chowan, in the 1st Senate District in the November 2020 election.

Emily Bunch Nicholson, a Democrat from Chowan, filed to run against state Rep. Ed Goodwin, R-Chowan, in the 1st House District in next year’s general election.

The region’s other two legislative seats — in the 5th and 6th House districts — were already contested. Keith Rivers of Pasquotank is challenging Howard Hunter, D-Hertford, in District 5. The winner will take on Republican Donald Kirkland of Ahoskie.

Rob Rollason of Dare is challenging state Rep. Bobby Hanig, R-Currituck, in District 6. The winner of the 6th District primary will face Democrat Tommy Fulcher of Dare in the November election.

Elsewhere, Ron Payne filed Friday for the Outside Corporate Limits seat on the Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Board of Education held by Denauvo Robinson, giving the school board chairman a second challenger in the November election. Daniel Spence previously joined Robinson in filing for the seat. Payne, a former principal at Northeastern High School, ran unsuccessfully for the Elizabeth City-Pasquotank school board in 2018, losing by 18 votes.

Also filing Friday for his at-large seat on the Elizabeth City-Pasquotank school board was Buck Jolly. He’ll be challenged by Rodney Walton, who also filed on Friday.

No one filed to oppose Shelia Hughes Williams, who previously filed for re-election to her Inside Corporate Limits. Consequently, she will run unopposed in November.

There were no other last-day filers in Pasquotank. That means two of the three board of commissioner seats are contested. Republican Bill Ward and Democrat Bill Sterritt will square off in November for the at-large seat Jeff Dixon is vacating at the end of next year. Lloyd Griffin III will face fellow Democrat Edmond Coker in the March 3 primary for his Northern Inside seat and the winner will take on Republican Paul Moncla in the general election.

Commissioner Frankie Meads, a Republican representing Nixonton Township, didn’t draw a challenger so he’ll run unopposed in November. Register of Deeds Clementine White, a Democrat, also will run unopposed.

In Camden, GOP Commissioner Gary Meiggs drew a Republican challenger on Friday. Tiffany Lou White filed to run against him in the GOP primary for his South Mills seat. The winner will take on Democrat Barbara Riggs in November.

There were no other filers in Camden on Friday. That means Commissioner Ross Munro will run unopposed for his at-large seat while Courthouse Township Commissioner Randy Krainiak will face a challenge from fellow Republican Michael McLain in the primary. Register of Deeds Tammie Krause, a Republican, is running unopposed.

Chowan County saw only one new filer on Friday: Travian Taylor filed to run for the District 3 seat now held by fellow Democrat Greg Bonner, who did not seek re-election.

Also not seeking re-election in Chowan is Democrat Don Faircloth, who holds the at-large seat. Two Republicans had already filed for the seat: Chris Evans and Michael Dean.

Incumbent Commissioner Ron Cummings, a Republican, is running unopposed for his District 1 seat. Alex Kehayes, a former GOP commissioner, is also running unopposed for the District 2 seat now held by Patti Kersey, who did not seek re-election. Lynn Gilliard, the county’s Democratic register of deeds, is also running unopposed for re-election.

In Perquimans County, Democratic incumbents Joseph Hoffler and Charles Woodard and Republican Kyle Jones are running for the three open seats on the Board of Commissioners. Democratic Register of Deeds Jacqueline Frierson is also running unopposed for re-election.

There is a race for Perquimans school board. Incumbents Leary Winslow, Russell Lassiter and Arlene Yates are being challenged for their seats by Joseph Silva. The top three vote-getters will gain seats in the March election.

There were no new filings in Currituck County on Friday. Incumbent At-large Commissioner Mary Etheridge is being challenged by fellow Republicans Fred Whiteman and Daryl Hood; incumbent Commissioner Paul Beaumont is being challenged by fellow Republican Stuart Innes for his District 4 seat; and incumbent Commissioner Selena Jarvis is being challenged by fellow Republican Steven Craddock for her District 2 seat.

Currituck Register of Deeds Denise Hall is being challenged by fellow Republican Christy McCord while Currituck Board of Education member Will Crodick is being challenged for his Fruitville Township seat by Kelly Peters. School board member Dawn Craft is running unopposed for her seat.

District Court Judges Edgar Barnes and Amber Davis Malarney are also running unopposed for re-election.