The Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Board of Education has a new chairman and vice chairwoman.

Denauvo Robinson was elected Monday to replace Sharon Warden as the new chairman of the seven-member board overseeing the Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Public Schools. Warden was then elected to the board’s new vice chair.

At the outset of Monday’s school board meeting Warden announced: “I have decided that I will step aside as chair.”

Warden said she had enjoyed chairing the board the past several years.

Robinson was nominated to chair the board by member George Archuleta. Board member Sheila Williams made a motion to close the nominations and to name Robinson chairman. Williams’ motion passed unanimously.

Warden was then nominated for the vice chair’s role by board member Virginia Houston, who, at the time, had that role. 

Archuleta nominated Pam Pureza for vice chair but she declined, citing obligations at her job.

After moving to the chairman’s seat Robinson said he appreciated the time and effort Warden had put in. Warden led the board “through some tumultuous times,” Robinson said.

At Robinson’s behest the board gave Warden a standing ovation.

“It has been my pleasure and my honor,” Warden said after receiving the ovation.

Area boards of commissioners, meanwhile, voted Monday to keep their current leadership teams in place.

The Pasquotank Board of Commissioners voted to keep Jeff Dixon chairman and Lloyd Griffin vice chairman during the seven-member board’s organizational meeting.

The five-member Camden County Board of Commissioners, meanwhile, re-elected Tom White its chairman and Clayton Riggs its vice chairman at the board’s organizational meeting Monday.

“Thank you, I think,” White quipped after being re-elected. White then added that it has been a pleasure to work with the county staff.

Both White and Riggs were elected by acclamation.

In Currituck County, Bob White was re-elected chairman and Mike Payment was re-elected vice chairman of the seven-member board.