Friday, March 05, 2021
Thursday, March 04, 2021

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday is celebrated each January. He is remembered by a lot of Americans as being a peaceful and non-violent man. He didn’t believe in black or white power, but people power, and in the ability for people to coexist peacefully.

Wednesday, March 03, 2021
Tuesday, March 02, 2021
Saturday, February 27, 2021
Thursday, February 25, 2021

It is with deep sadness that I report that Linda Perry, founder of the Camden Charitable Foundation and the wife of retired Camden Sheriff Tony Perry, passed away this week at her home surrounded by her family. Linda had suffered from Alzheimer’s disease for the past six years.

If you're interested in submitting a Letter to the Editor, click here.


Thursday, February 25, 2021

It is with deep sadness that I report that Linda Perry, founder of the Camden Charitable Foundation and the wife of retired Camden Sheriff Tony Perry, passed away this week at her home surrounded by her family. Linda had suffered from Alzheimer’s disease for the past six years.

Wednesday, February 24, 2021

After reading a frequent local contributor’s list of reasons to be thankful for Donald Trump, I was amazed that he neglected to mention some of the most noteworthy.

Tuesday, February 23, 2021
Monday, February 22, 2021
Saturday, February 20, 2021

I’d like to say “thank you” to President Donald Trump for standing up to China and showing us that we don’t need to be under their thumb economically, or any other way. I’d also like to say “thank you” for the strongest economy in my lifetime.

Friday, February 19, 2021

If you have received Meals on Wheels or services from Food Bank of the Albemarle, the American Red Cross; adopted a dog or cat from the SPCA; watched Green Saves Green sample local water quality; contributed to the Salvation Army’s Red Kettle program; or applied for a Habitat for Humanity ho…

Thursday, February 18, 2021
Wednesday, February 17, 2021

Representatives — Liz Cheney of Wyoming, Tom Rice of South Carolina, Dan Newhouse and Jaime Herrera Beutler of Washington, Adam Kinzinger of Illinois, Anthony Gonzalez of Ohio, Peter Meijer and Fred Upton of Michigan, John Katko of New York and David Valadao of California — caved in to liber…

Tuesday, February 16, 2021

According to those meddling scientists, our minds create the blueness of the skies, the touch of a loved one, the buzz of bees, the sound we think the tree makes when it falls in a forest, the repulsive smell of excrement, the delicious taste of your favorite food, the love of our friends an…

Saturday, February 13, 2021

I was very glad when I read that the Pasquotank County Confederate monument could possibly be relocated to a county resident’s private property. On Feb. 1, the Pasquotank Board of Commissioners’ Special Projects Committee voted unanimously to strongly consider a proposal from Warren Weidrick…

Friday, February 12, 2021

On May 19, 2016, then Vice President Joe Biden proudly told the National Urban League’s legislative policy conference he was worried about facing retirement because he had never held a private-sector job.

Thursday, February 11, 2021
Wednesday, February 10, 2021
Tuesday, February 09, 2021